I'm So Great: The Rantings of a Jaded Youth

When I grow up, I want to be just like me.

Baby Animals and Baby People November 1, 2010

Ploop. That’s the sound a baby horse makes as it is being born.

Okay, I wasn’t talking about the cute kind of baby animals and I’m sorry I mislead you.  I can’t tell you why, but I’ve been thinking about animals being born all morning.  When you think about it like that, we have it pretty sweet.  Your baby doesn’t slide out and flop on the floor on its barely developed legs while you’re having a stroll, or have to fight its way out of an egg.  If you can’t pass a baby, there are doctors who will give you a bunch of drugs and cut that thing out of you. If you have AIDS, there are drugs you can take at certain times during your pregnancy so the baby won’t get it too.  No matter what the complications, we have some medical solution.  When it’s time for us to have a baby, there’s no more survival of the fittest.  I can’t really decide how I feel about that.

On a individual level, of course that’s a good thing.  No one wants to lose their wife or baby or both.  

I wouldn’t want my theoretical baby to die, no matter what the complications with its brain or body.  But what does this mean for our species?  Are we weakening the whole to preserve the individual? And is it necessarily a bad thing when we’re preserving more potentially great minds?  We’ve evolved mentally into a complacent society that no longer sees the world as Us and Them, the Real People versus Everyone Else, and that makes it harder for us to think in terms of the Survivors and the weaker, unimportant people who die off for the greater good. 

I guess what I was getting at is that we’d be greatly unprepared for a zombie apocalypse/ full scale alien attack because we’ve all gone soft.

 

9 Responses to “Baby Animals and Baby People”

  1. Jill Says:

    Humans may have learned to alter the environment to the extent that they are no longer susceptible to the culling done by the forces of nature, but they are still susceptible to disease. Just watch Outbreak or The Crazies or something and your faith in “survival of the fittest” will be renewed. When the next lethal endemic breaks out, we’ll lose another third of the population. I mean, we’re overdue. So there’s no need to worry! :-D

    • Stephanie Says:

      Lol, oh good. At least the spider-AIDS plague will do for us what we couldn’t muster up the guts to do for ourselves. Occasionally, when I’m washing my face in the shower, I have a brief moment of mental panic where I realize that if I opened my eyes and had to fight off a burgler or a zombie, I would have no weapon and no protective layer of clothing to save me from knives or bites. Plus, I wouldn’t know the first thing about defending myself. I’m always like, OH GOD, zombie me is going to lurch up behind Ernie and he’ll be like, Stephanie, you’re biting me a little har–MY NEEEEECK! And then I’ll be responsible for the zombpocalyse.

    • Stephanie Says:

      Dangit, I spelled “burglar” wrong? I’ve been out of school too long.

  2. Maja Says:

    I definitely have mixed feelings on the subject. I’m a strong believer in evolution and what you’ve posted here (with regards to survival of the fittest) is an insanely large part of evolution.

    I don’t really feel that we, as a species, need to evolve any more. Of course I wouldn’t want to have a loved one; child, friend, etc to die during childbirth or because of some sort of complication. But I don’t see us genetically getting better any more.

    Having said that, we don’t seem to really need to evolve or adapt too much. We are evolving in other ways now, using technology (though it’s not evolution by definition).

    • Stephanie Says:

      I definitely agree that we’ve taken a lot of the physical evolution out of the mix for our species, at least for now. It’d take some kind of horrible natural disaster, a disease like Jill plausibly pointed out in counterpoint to my ridiculous zombie attack, or some kind of nuclear fallout. That said, I don’t worry too much about humanity’s adaptability or evolutionary hardiness, but that doesn’t necesarrily mean that if we had to adapt in a hurry that it’d be a fun experience, lol.

  3. DJ Schway Says:

    Every day science and technology advances towards a day where the handicapped can potentially become better than the normal people. After all, what’s better: A fleshy arm that can be injured quite easily, or a cybernetic arm that can crush the faces of all who oppose you? There’s already people with missing legs running marathons with crazy ass bouncy legs and shit…

    We’re just getting to the point where evolving any further is moot.


Leave a Reply

