I'm So Great: The Rantings of a Jaded Youth

When I grow up, I want to be just like me.

Evelyn Evelyn May 27, 2010

So I’m sitting in the car on the way home from the Evelyn Evelyn concert. It was so fucking awesome. I wanted to note that they will be performing at Largo at the Coronet in L.A. tomorrow/today (the 27th) if any of the four people who read this blog happen to be in the area. I’m definitely telling you to get your ass down there because it was an amazing show.

The show kicked off with Sxip (pronounced Skip) Shirey, the “manager” of Evelyn Evelyn, doing some crazy improvised music with a megaphone and bells and a marble in a bowl. I know, I know, but it was crazy awesome and I bought his CD Sonic New York at the show because I needed more. He has a great, unique sound and I’m glad that seeing something already so good only brought more good things!

Then it went into Evelyn Evelyn, the conjoined twins played by Amanda Palmer and Jason Webley. They were in character the entire time being awkward and hilarious, and told their life story with a puppet show by Sxip.

After their completely and utterly great show, there was a break and when we came back, Jason Webley was out of the two-person dress and ready to rile up the audience with a series of interactive songs played on his monster accordion.

And finally, it was Amanda Palmer’s turn to shine with her candid audience conversations and a plethora of old and new songs.

The whole thing ended with a song called Electric Blanket, written and performed by Amanda and Jason with some bell back-up from Sxip, but touted as a Simon and Garfunkel cover. Then it re-ended several more times, each time greater than the last, culminating in Jason Webley getting the audience “drunk” by making us spin in circles before very loudly singing his Drinking Song.

I haven’t been to many concerts, but this one was, without question, the best I’ve ever been to. There isn’t much word out on Evelyn Evelyn so if you can get out to see them, their concerts are cheap and intimate and well worth the money.

 

2 Responses to “Evelyn Evelyn”

  1. Danielle Says:

    OMG! It’s so like I was there. Outside of the Amanda Palmer parts (which, I regretfully have not seen…Le Sigh…) I could see it all happen. I have seen Sxip perform twice and I think that he is utterly fantastic. I love everything that he does. And you know how I feel about our Mr. Webley. I am so happy that you went! I totally failed to get a ticket for the ball room in portland, but I’m happy that you went so I can live vicariously. GRAND TIMES. GRAAAND. SO AWESOME!!

    I love the drinking song! This was your first time seeing him live, right?

    • Stephanie Says:

      It was my first time! He’s got this energy when he performs that’s SO crazy to be around and Amanda Palmer is the same way. It’s infectious.


Leave a Reply

