I'm So Great: The Rantings of a Jaded Youth

When I grow up, I want to be just like me.

No St. Patrick’s Day Dress for Me March 18, 2010

image
I set out yesterday in my sparkly cupcake dress with my happiest bag to find a St. Patrick’s Day dress that would make me the goddess of fertility and rebirth because that’s how I felt. I don’t know why I always assume that I can walk into a Target or a Torrid and find exactly what I want in my size on the first rack, but I do. I really, really want it to be that way. So I walked around in my homemade dress with my homemade bag and expected something- anything– to be as awesome as I am so that I could wear it out. No such luck.

Young fat girls have little choice in clothing. Fat women, on the other hand, are expected to walk around in drab, busily patterned burlap sacks. I don’t understand the logic of this. From a monetary standpoint alone, it only makes sense to make all clothing in all sizes. I know I won’t look good in a thong, but there are stil women twice my size who buy them. There is a market for every ridiculous thing you put out there, so why is it so hard for clothing manufacturers to understand that fat girls will buy cute clothing if it’s there for them to buy? We don’t want to be covered up in shapeless mu-mus! We want something that will hide our trouble spots and flatter our figures. We’re women just like everyone else and we want to look our best. I’m shocked that every time I want to wear something cute and fun, I have to make it myself. And I do. I’m not going to let the fat-hating clothiers get me down. I’ma look good anyway.

image

And this, of course, is why I can’t make money with any one thing, lol. I want to do everything.

 

2 Responses to “No St. Patrick’s Day Dress for Me”

  1. Brittany, also great Says:

    I couldn’t agree more! And Spring is the worst! Everything is a crazy busy floral. Also, I went pants shopping at a WOMAN store, not a TEEN or girl store, and still, all the ass of every pair of jeans was bedazzled! And not just a little glitter here and there. I mean full on multicolored rhinestones. Madness! Just sayin’.


Leave a Reply

