I'm So Great: The Rantings of a Jaded Youth

When I grow up, I want to be just like me.

Baking Rocks My Socks March 15, 2010

Filed under: Things I Like,Things I've Done,Things I've Made — Stephanie Fantastic @ 3:31 pm
Tags: , ,

I started baking pretty regularly around Christmas and now I can’t stop! I don’t get it. I’ve always loved making (but mostly frosting) cakes.

When I was young, it didn’t matter if the cake was from scratch or from a box so long as I got to mix a bunch of frosting colors and get to it. Sometimes in my Art School painting class, I thought longingly of days when painting was delicious instead of insanely hard and tedious. I am a horrible painter. Brittany and I frosted the infamous fetus cake for Jill’s baby shower, image

an excellent cake of a hobo frolicking in a magical hobo garden for my 16th birthday, image

and a super awesome Invader Zim that I somehow failed to take a picture of. Frosting cakes was something I enjoyed immensely and everyone loves eating cakes. I kind of fell out of the habit until recently though. I’m like that. I do something for a while, get bored with it, move on, and eventually rediscover how awesome it was. My attention span is very low. I did have some sporadic fun with my boyfriend Ernie’s 26th birthday, image

a sweet pineapple cake, image

and a birthday cake for my little Corolla’s first oil change. image

I’ve been exploding with baked goods lately! And no more boxed cakes for me. I love baking things from scratch. It makes me feel like even when I’m eating junkfood, I’m still eating for reals food.

I’ve been considering opening a mail order bakery. A certain amount of money would guarantee a certain amount of baked goods per month. I haven’t worked out all the details though because I’m not sure if anyone would actually be interested in such an awesome thing. If you ARE imterested, by all means leave me a comment or shoot me an e-mail. Judging by the amount of spam I’ve been getting since I opened this account, I’m pretty sure my e-mail address is somewhere on this site. If you need anymore proof of my baking skillz, I will leave you with my resume.

image

Baby carrot cakes

image

Heart-shaped almond poppyseed loaf, anyone?

image

How about some swirly sugar cookies? I also make a mean chocolate chunk cookie but those aren’t cute so I generally don’t take pictures of them

 

4 Responses to “Baking Rocks My Socks”

  1. Brittany, also great Says:

    Fucking love those carrot cakes!

  2. Danielle Says:

    STEPHANIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!

    FETUS CAKE! BAAAAH HAHAHAHAHA.

    Joy and JOYNESS! I love your blog! I WILL EAT IT! NOM NOM NOM NOM NOM NOM!!!!

    YAYAY!!!!!! BLOG! I SIGNED UP! I’m SO your biggest fan! NOM!


Leave a Reply

